Reinvention

I joined yet another nail art challenge!! LOL! I don’t want to get to the point that I HAVE to do a mani every single day, but I want to make sure I’m posting more than once a week! I’m trying for at least twice a week!!

During the #ShareTheLove campaign on Facebook I came across The Lacquer Legion which is a monthly nail art challenge! Follow the prompt, post your manicures, and connect with the nail community. JANUARY’S THEME: “Reinvention”. Thankfully they also added a “description” so I had some idea where I wanted to go with this theme.

“REINVENTION…the theme. Reinvention can be interpreted however you want! There are no wrong manis…ever! Reinvent a classic technique like the French. Reinvent a look you love with new colors. Reinvent one of your first attempts at nail art with your newfound skills. Or reinvent your own style by trying something you wouldn’t normally try. Just invent…again. We can’t wait to see what you come up with!”

I decided to reinvent the first mani I ever did on the blog!!

DSC08471There it is, my very first photo uploaded to the blog. It was dark and orangey and the stripes were all different widths… oh and you can see someone in my house was sick because there’s throat spray and prescription meds hanging out in the background!!! I remember taking a million and one pictures and then narrowing it down to the best. I was obviously happy with this picture.

Thankfully I’ve gotten a little better since then.

DSC04972I started with the same base color Nicole by OPI Kardashian Kolor Khloe Had A Little Lam-Lam.

DSC04973

Last time I went freehand with the stripes. (They’re not half bad for freehand horizontal!!) This time around I used striping tape.

DSC04976Last time I think I used Hard Candy “Matte-ly In Love” to matte them down, but this time I went with my tried and true NYC Matte Me Crazy. I also added an accent nail by using China Glaze Deviantly Daring on my ring finger instead of the matte. 2014-01-08

Here you can see them side by side (or is it top to bottom? LOL). The new mani still isn’t perfect, but there is a big improvement!! My photography skills and use of a light box definitely show the true color of the polish better. I learned how to use gimp to edit my watermark so it (in my opinion) looks better and the entire mani is just a little neater!

I’m really happy with the overall improvement! What do you guys think?

Angie_val01-SSC

6 thoughts on “Reinvention

  1. Very nice! It’s nice to be able to see the improvements from when you first started. It is always interesting to go back and see my early attempts at photographing my nails. I always wonder…why did I think that picture looked good lol. Like you, my skills have improved from when I first started.

  2. I think it’s awesome to post a side-by-side so you can see how far you’ve progressed! I love that contrast of Deviant Daring as well. Lovely!

Leave a Reply

