Distressed Nails

I was very intimidated by the distressed technique… it turned out to be super easy and fun!!

If you’re curious about how to do this technique grab a cup of coffee (I’m having Southern Butter Pecan today!) and check out this YouTube video by Chalkboard Nails.

I used her tutorial as a guideline for this mani and decided to start with a gradient instead of the brushstroke mani she used.

I used NYC Sidewalkers, Sinful Colors Smokin and Revlon Iconic. (No top coat in this pic.)

I thought an old, distressed metal feel would be cool

so I added Mentality 12k Gold.

You can see my gradient wasn’t totally dry before I started with 12k Gold so there are some visible drag marks in my polish. I wasn’t too worried because this is supposed to be distressed!! I only waited for my first coat of Sidewalkers and last coat of top coat to completely dry while I worked on this. It may have been the fastest nail art I’ve ever done! LOL!

I had a really hard time getting pictures of this mani. I used Finger Paints Black Expressionism for the distressed look.

This one is inside my light box with no top coat.

This one is outside on the porch, still no top coat.

In the light box after top coat. Today I used OutTheDoor.

Still in the light box…

Still in the light box. This isn’t the best photo, but it showed the drag marks of the black over the gradient and gold flecks so well I had to share!!

<== To see more distressed manis click the linky!

9 thoughts on “Distressed Nails

Leave a Reply

